Introducing Ourselves

Model 1
When you introduce yourself to a stranger, you usually do these things :

  1. Greet them
  2. Say your name
  3. Give extra information
  4. Say something pleasant

Example model 1 :

Eko is a new student in the class. The teacher asks him to introduce himself to the class.

Eko : Good morning everybody.

Student : Morning.

Eko : Well, I’d like to introduce myself. I’m Eko Sudarmakiyanto, my friends call me Eko. I’m from Papua (Irian Jaya). Because of my father’s duty, my family moved here a couple of weeks ago. I live at Jln Raya Karangpucung-Ciraja, No.02 Cilacap.

Ica : Telephone number?

Eko : Thank, (0280) 6261-775. If you’d like to call me up personally you can dial my HP 085227545xxx. You may add my email ekosudarmakiyanto@yahoo.co.id as your friend on facebook, here my facebook address http://www.facebook.com/ekosmax or my twitter http://www.twitter.com/ekosmax You’ve got it, thanks. Err… being a new student and new comer in Cilacap, I’m not familiar with the habit, any places, etc. so, I’d be very delighted if you all like to help me. Well, I thing that’s all. Thank you very much.

Questions :

  1. Underline the expression Eko uses to introduce himself !
  2. What other things does Eko say when he introduce himself ?

Model 2

  1. If you want to introduce yourself, you can say :
    • Hi ! / Hello ! I’m …
    • Hi ! / Hello ! My name’s …
    • I’d like to introduce myself. Im’ / my name’s …
    • May I introduce myself ? I’m / my name’s …
    • allow me to introduce myself, I’m / my name’s …
    • etc.
  2. The respon are :
    • hi. / Hello.
    • Nice to meet you.
    • Pleased to meet you.
    • How do you do.
    • I’m glad to meet you.
    • etc.

Example model 2 :

Iyan : Hello. My name is Ryan Clark. My friends call me Iyan. I’m in the third year, science program, you may look for me at XII IPA 2. I see you standing here alone, and may I join you for a moment?

Eko : Hi, Iyan. It’s nice to meet you. I’m Eko Sudarmakiyanto. You may call me Eko

Iyan : O.K. Eko. Are you new student here? I’ve never seen you before.

Eko : Yes, I’m. I moved here three days ago.

Iyan : I think you are in the third year, aren’t you?

Eko : No, I’m in the second year. Well, I think I must be going to the library now. It’s nice to know you.

Iyan : Nice to meet you. See you.

Questions :

  1. Underline the expression Iyan uses to introduce himself !
  2. Is the language formal or informal ?
  3. How does Eko end the conversation ?

Leave a Reply

